Select Page

Who Keeps A Check On The Standard Of A Course Offered By Various Institutions In Computer Cyber Security?

Who Keeps A Check On The Standard Of A Course Offered By Various Institutions In Computer Cyber Security?

Cyber Security, also known as Electronic Information Security, refers to the practice of ensuring your computers, servers, and electronic devices are safe from malicious attacks and unauthorized access. Computers have become a part of our day-to-day life. Our professional and private lives have begun to revolve around the electronic world, which has led to a significant increase in cyber security professionals. You can enroll in the Stanford cybersecurity program or a cybersecurity review course to accelerate your career in cybersecurity and get a globally recognized certificate.

According to Cybersecurity Ventures, cybercrimes would cost the world $10.5 trillion by 2025. Cyberwarriors and attackers are now using machine learning and artificial intelligence to activate automated attacks without any human intervention. Due to this, the importance of cybersecurity is on the rise.


img source:

The term ‘cyber security’ applies in a variety of contexts, from mobile computing to businesses, and can be classified in the following categories:

1. Network Security:

It is the practice of protecting and securing your computer network from unwanted intruders, targeted attackers, or opportunistic malware by controlling incoming and outgoing connections.

2. Cloud Security:

Also known as Cloud Computing Security, this type of security protects cloud-based data and infrastructure. It consists of a set of procedures, technologies, and policies.

3. Data Security:

Data security uses specific procedures, controls, and standard policies to protect data from destruction, accidental loss, and unauthorized access. Also known as Data Loss Prevention (DLP), it even includes the physical aspect of security like location and classification to limit manipulation or disclosure of sensitive data.

4. Endpoint Security:

It is the process of protecting the various endpoints in a network, devices like mobile phones, PCs, and laptops are considered endpoints.

Cyber Security Standards:

img source:

Cyber Security Standards are defined as the norms and rules that business organizations need to follow to earn certain authentic rights for storing critical data and accepting online payments. Every company needs to follow and adhere to these rules. It is a detailed list of policies that need to be applied in a system complying with a given standard. For example, if a business organization is looking to accept online payments, then it needs to comply with the defined PCI-DSS standard.

Cybersecurity standards aim to improve the security of information technology (IT) systems, networks, and infrastructures. A cybersecurity standard defines functional requirements within a system, product, process, or technological environment. Well-developed cybersecurity standards serve as a dependable metric for purchasing security products and ensure consistency among product developers. A standard’s requirements must be verifiable. Security standards are provided for every company, no matter how small it is or in which industry and sector they operate. Following are some of the most important and common security standards:

1. ISO 27000:

ISO 27000 can be classified into the following types:

ISO 27001:

ISO 27001 is amongst the most common standards organizations need to follow to implement an information security management system. It consists of rules and requirements that need to be satisfied to get a certification for this standard. According to this standard, all the technologies should be up to date, and the servers should have no vulnerabilities.

ISO 27002:

ISO 27002 is a standard that establishes guidelines and general principles for selecting, implementing, operating, and improving information security management in an organization.

ISO 27005:

ISO 27005 provides guidelines for the implementation of information security based on a risk management approach.


Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) is a standard that needs to be followed by hospitals to make sure that the data of their patients remains 100% secure and protected. According to this standard, hospitals need to deploy strong network security teams that can handle all security-related incidents.


PCI DSS stands for Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard. This standard provides guidelines for those organizations that accept online payments. According to it, the technologies being used in the organization need to be updated, and the systems must undergo security assessment regularly to make them full proof against any significant vulnerability.

Cyber Security Standards Organizations:

img source:

1. International Organization for Standardization (ISO):

International Organization for Standardization (ISO) was established on 23rd February 1947. It is an international, independent non-governmental organization. ISO consists of 162 national standard bodies, 784 technical committees, and subcommittees to take care of standards development. It has also published over 22,336 International Standards and its related documents.

2. The National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST):

The National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) is a non-regulatory agency of the United States Department of Commerce. It aims to encourage industrial competitiveness and innovation. In addition, NIST guides private sector companies to evaluate and work on their ability regarding computer security.

It has various freely available publications like the SP 800 (Computer Security), SP 500 (Information Technology), and SP 1800 (Cyber Security Practice Guides).

3. The British Standard Institution (BSI):

It is the United Kingdom’s national standardization body. It consists of several technical standards on products and services. It also provides certification and standards-related services to businesses.


img source:

Q1: What are cyber security standards?

Ans: Cyber security standards are created to ensure all organizations are protected from cyber threats and attacks. These standards apply to all companies, regardless of their size.

Q2: What skills are required for a job in cyber security?

Ans: The top skills required for a job in cyber security are communication skills, problem-solving skills, technical aptitude, fundamental computer forensics skills, and an understanding of hacking.

Q3: What are the 4 types of cyber attacks?

Ans: The 4 types of cyberattacks are:
Malware Attacks
Brute-Force Attack
Credential Stuffing
Spear Phishing

About The Author

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

25  −  21  =